The Birth Of A Treasure.

On October 11, 2017 around 3:30p.m., I walked into Opelousas General Hospital knowing that I was in labor with my 6th child. After having 5 kids before, 4 of them without epidurals, I knew exactly what contractions felt like. Sure enough, when the nurses checked me, I was already dilated to 5 cm and they checked me in for delivery.

Being a photographer, I went there with my camera bag, equipped with my 2 cameras and multiple lenses. I was intent on capturing images of my baby myself after I pushed her out.

Once in the room, I set my camera and was ready and set to go once I delivered. However, little did I know that it would not work that way.

I received a call from a good friend of mine named, Felicia Sonnier. She worked at the hospital but is also a fellow photographer. She was just getting off and was going to come in and see me for a little while before I had my baby.

We talked and chatted for about an hour and things were going good. I was progressing nicely and dilating more. Then it seemed like suddenly it was time to push and she offered to stay and use my camera to photograph it.  I am so happy that she did!

Because I had decided on another all natural delivery, I was in so much pain that I doubt I would’ve been able to get any of the images that I planned to.

After 2 pushes, Treasure Jewel Adora Thompson was born at 7:35. p.m.

Here are some of the images from her birth.

 

 

If you want to see more of the images, you can view the video here:

 

Treasure is now 1 year old and is so loved by everyone who knows her.

 

 

Leave a comment